Friday, March 30, 2007
"Hello! Cooking Hotline......"
Apparently my passion for cooking & baking makes me a good target for cooking questions. I actually LIKE it when people call me asking how to make something or what to do now or for a recipe suggestion. Here are some real life examples of calls placed to my cooking Hotline:
How do I make chocolate curls to top a cheesecake?
Simple! With a Hershey bar & a vegetable peeler. Just run the peeler along the side of the bar. As the bar softens a bit in your hand, start running the peeler along the softened edge to make nicer looking curls.
How do I blanch a potato?
Blanching is just quickly cooking a {usually} vegetable in boiling water then putting it in ice water to stop the cooking process. Depending on the size of your potato chunks, they only need to be in the boiling water a minute or two.
I assembled {but did not bake} a ravioli casserole to deliver to a friend tonight, but she had to cancel. What should I do with it? Can it just be refrigerated? Freeze it?
{Apparently I have not talked enough to this friend about OAMC.....} I recommend putting the casserole in the fridge for delivery tomorrow. The raviolis are already cooked all the way through so freezing them in the sauce, dethawing & baking might lead to mushiness.
What should I make for dinner tonight?? I have chicken/ground beef/pork chops dethawed in the fridge.
This is actually one of the more exciting types of Hotline calls as it allows me to express my creativity. After asking the caller if they have other types of pantry staples on hand, I am usually able to come up with something quick & yummy. {Although if their freezer were stocked with meals.....}
Can I use stew meat for beef kabobs?
Um, no. Although it is cut into little chunks for you already {deceiving, eh?} stew meat is a tough cut of beef, meant to be tenderized during a long simmering time in a stew. For kabobs, use a cut such as top sirloin cut into chunks {recommended by several websites I polled}.
One repeat caller loves to call me while at the supermarket. She asked the kabob question & calls to tell me what she wants to make for dinner & asks the Hotline what ingredients she needs. Sometimes she asks other things such as, "Between a scallion & a scallop, which one is the seafood?" I believe it was she who wanted to make fortune cookies for her Valentine's Day dessert. I had to restrain myself from jumping through the Hotline phone & screaming "NOOOOO!" {It's important to know the callers' relative cooking skills & abilities here.} I've made fortune cookies before; it teaches you lots of patience & attempts to callous your fingers against high temperatures. Caller promptly crossed it off her list.
Thank you for calling the Cooking Hotline. I have enjoyed assisting you in your culinary endeavors. Please feel free to call again. Good-byeeee!
Tuesday, March 27, 2007
Knitting Minds Need to Know
I guess if you are not pregnant, you could chime in here too. Have you ever received a knitted baby gift? Did you like it? If not, was it because you are just not into hand-made items or maybe it was dorky/grandmother-ish {no offense meant to grandmothers here}?
Monday, March 19, 2007
Celebrating 100 days...

Of course, what's good for the goose is good for the gander, so we made little peanut a crown too that says, "Future Homeschooler".
The books I have picked out for this week are:Mrs. Bindergarten Celebrates the 100th day of Kindergarten {read this one on Monday~perfect intro for this week!!}
100 Hungry Ants
The Wolf's Chicken Stew {read this one yesterday}
I'll Teach My Dog 100 Words {read this one yesterday}
Centipede's 100 Shoes
Yesterday we all made signs to hang on the homeschool wall that said what we each could eat 100 of. {Tatiana: 100 pizzas & 100 ice cream cones, Sienna: 100 french fries, Me: 100 cups of Chai, Rick: 100 hershey kisses} Here we are the happy students with their 100 Cheerio necklaces {ok, well by the time Sienna's was done it had about 90-something}:


I also have planned to discuss what life was like 100 years ago, make a list of what $100 could buy, see how far 100 steps takes us from our house, & end the week with a celebration with 100 balloons and a 100 piece snack {after which I should probably do 100 sit-ups}! It will be a fun last week of school before Spring Break. As for April, I am planning a "Easter" unit study for the first week {if I can get my act together, book recommendations anyone??} and we will be doing animal-related FIAR books for the rest of the month, capped off by a trip to the zoo on April 27th with my wonderful mother. I just love having school relate to other activities in our lives, especially since spring is {officially} here & al the little creatures are coming out to play. Makes so much sense that way!
I am already excited about the next school year & making plans for what sort of things to cover. I am thinking of adding cursive handwriting, some sort of creative writing/journaling, spanish & history. Sound like too much for a first-grader? We probably would not cover everything, everyday. For history I really like the idea of TruthQuest & using real books to teach. I especially like how this curriculum is about God's Hand throughout history. It seems like real books make things come alive for a child in a way that textbooks never can. Just yesterday we were reading the book Knitting Nell {about a girl who loves to knit!} and in one scene she is hugging a sheep. I asked Tatiana why she would do that. She said because wool comes from sheep & yarn is made from wool. {Insert jaw drop here.} I'm sure she remembered this from another awesome book we studied called "A New Coat for Anna". It was really cool. Well, we are off to homeschool group now for some friends, learning & fun. Hope everyone is having a lovely week!
Wednesday, March 14, 2007
What's in the freezer?
French Bread Pizzas w/Easy Pizza Sauce ~ this pizza sauce is SO incredibly easy....I added a pinch of sugar to sweeten it up a bit. I used a bag of french bread hoagie rolls from Sam's Club, $2.87 for 6 big rolls, which made 12 pizzas. Not bad, eh?
Honey Nut Chicken Strips from Rachel Ray's 365 No Repeats
Carribbean Chicken ~ light fruity flavor, probably will taste good grilled
Creamy Chicken Divan ~ this was yummy, but not super flavorful. More on the comforting side. I purchased a 4# bag of frozen broccoli florets at Sam's Club for $4.32. Seems like a great deal, especially considering that you've got only the usable florets & you don't have to spend any time chopping. I also used Healthy Request Cream of Chicken Soup & Lite Sour Cream to save on calories.
1 bunch broccoli ~ lightly steamed {or enough broccoli to barely cover the bottom of each pan}
1 can cream of chicken soup
4 c. cooked chicken, diced
1/3 t. poultry seasoning
16 oz. container sour cream
2 c. shredded cheddar
1 1/2 c. crushed Ritz crackers
3 T. slivered almonds
2 T. melted butter
This will make either two 8x8" pans or one 9x13". Place broccoli in the bottom of pan {if using frozen, no need to steam or dethaw}. In separate bowl, combine soup, chicken, poultry seasoning, salt, sour cream, and 1 cup shredded cheese. Spread mixture evenly over broccoli. Top with remaining cheese. Mix together crushed Ritz, almonds & melted butter. Sprinkle over the top of dish. Bake at 350° F for 35-40 or until topping is browned and filling is bubbly around the edges.
Pepperoni Ziti Casserole ~ I used whole wheat pasta & skim ricotta.
And then tonight for dessert I made Dirt Bombs, except I made them in mini-muffin tins {baking for only 13-15 minutes} so they'd be kid sized. {Seriously, can you really go wrong with anything dipped in butter then rolled in cinnamon-sugar???} Perfect for a play date snack, I think. {Little messy on the eating part though.} So far, two BIG thumbs-up from mom & daughter #2. YUM-O!!
The only thing I can't vouch for flavor-wise is the Honey Nut Chicken Strips. They seem like they're heavy on the spices, but we shall see. The only major problem I have been having for about the last 8 months is recipe storage. For the last 3 months I've actually been handwriting all the recipes I want to try out in a notebook!! I downloaded a free trial of Big Oven online, but then cheaped out when it came time to purchase the program. Also, I've read a lot of horror stories about computers crashing and entire recipe boxes being lost. I think I am just going to type out all my recipes into Word saving each recipe file, then print each one out and keep them in a binder. Kinda like my own personal cookbook. I really like something tangible that I can hold & see, as opposed to a computer database {which I have been using up until this point}. This way, I can easily share the recipes by copying & pasting from the Word file and I'll also have my "hard" copy for when I'm recipe planning. Whadda ya think? How do you store your recipes? I just love trying new recipes. I almost can't wait til the next round of OAMC. Guess I'll just start planning....
Sunday, March 11, 2007
Even the Best Laid Plans....
Friday, March 02, 2007
Aldi & Spring Cleaning
But, in honor of National Frozen Food Month, I thought we'd discuss one of many people's favorite discount food stores: Aldi. I used to shop there quite often as we lived in their backyard. Not figuratively. Literally. It was nice to just be able to walk to the end of the fence to pick up a gallon of milk or a $1.99 pizza. Now that we live about 20 minutes from the nearest one {and not near my main grocery stop, Woodman's} I don't shop there as often. Maybe once a month. I am planning on going more frequently though to try and cut down on our grocery bill. I am
Please help me save money at Aldi. So here are my questions: How often do you shop there? What do you love to buy there because it is a really great deal {and tastes good enough}? What will you not buy there because it is either not saving money or doesn't taste good?
Monday, February 26, 2007
Moved
Crystal was discussing the movie Amazing Grace. Have any of you seen it? I think it just came out last Friday. I honestly rarely go to the movie theatre ($$$$), but if it's for something really awesome then I would go. I so enjoyed this video too of the story of Amazing Grace. I think it is miraculous how God stirred the heart of one man, John Newton, and the legacy he left with ONE song. Have you ever felt like you couldn't do anything great for God? I mean, maybe something small, but nothing magnanimous because you are just one woman, or one set of hands, or you would just be helping one person. I can't imagine that when Mr. Newton penned that hymn that he could've ever fathomed the impact that his simple heartfelt words would have. I am inspired today....by one man and one song.
Thursday, February 22, 2007
Frugal Clothing Ideas
Here are some frugal clothing ideas I thought you may enjoy.
1. Thrift Stores/Garage Sales: I went to Village Discount over the weekend and bought Tatiana 6 summer shirts and 2 pairs of jeans for $14. I still can't believe it. These are all name brand items like Gymboree, Justice, Children's Place & Old Navy. They have seen some wear, but still have plenty of life left. I will be sure to be checking back there every so often to see what is new, especially once summertime nears. Another local thrift store which I have enjoyed in the past is Once Upon A Child. All kids' stuff! I also *love* garage sales. A lot of times you can purchase nearly new things for just a song. Whenever I am looking at garage sale ads, I specifically go to the ones that mention "kids clothes" or whatever it is I'm looking for. I also love neighborhood sales = less driving around.
2. Ebay: I am a big ebayer. I almost always check ebay before making a big purchase. A lot of times you can get something new or almost new for a fraction of the price. My favorite auctions are "LOTS" where you are buying a whole bunch of clothes, instead of just one item.
3. Hand Me Downs: Probably the most frugal clothing idea there is. It's free! Maybe you know someone who's child is bigger than yours to borrow clothes from. I know some people are protective of their clothes. The way I look at it is, it's all God's stuff anyways. If someone can use my clothes instead of just letting them sit unused in my basement, I rather bless another person in that way.
4. Sew: *gasp* If you are even a little bit handy, you could manage sewing simple items. My mom has made outfits for the girls without even using a zipper or button. There are so many simple easy-to-sew patterns out there. Especially as your kids grow out of the toddler sizes, it seems like the clothing gets *so* much more expensive. Fabric only costs about 1/3 to 1/2 the price of the finished item. Tatiana is really into skirts right now {and I have a feeling this will continue as she is very GIRLIE} so I plan on making her some skirts for the summer. Maybe a couple of dresses too. Another mom friend plans to do the same for her daughter, so hopefully we will be taking a road trip to JoAnn's shortly!
Feel free to chime in with your frugal clothing ideas. I'd love to hear 'em!
Monday, February 19, 2007
Frugal Grocery Ideas #1
PACKAGING. It’s what adds extra cost to your grocery bill. I know it’s sometimes hard to resist the cute little packages things come in or the idea that everything is all ready to eat in its convenient container. There are ways to use your own packages that are much more, shall I say, frugal. Some examples:
Thursday, February 15, 2007
Our Story
Sunday, February 11, 2007
Scrapbook Share
Road Trip{Journaling} I gave up on the notion of a perfect anniversary weekend. Our cottage wasn't what I expected. The weather was dismal. In the end, those details didn't matter. We had a cozy fireplace, a splendid day in Holland, & plenty of unique coffee shops to visit. Most importantly, we had each other. Perfect after all.
*There is kind of a doodled line border that got cut off around the edge with little hand drawn stars here and there. I am a poor scanner/stitcher I guess.*
Fabulous @ 5{Journaling} 12: number of kids at Tatiana's birthday party 11: months spent planning CareBears theme, Approximate days since emergency appendectomy: 65, 4: weeks left til beginning homeschooling kindergarten, Tatiana owns about 13 CareBears and nearly the same # of pajamas, 1826: days we've been blessed to have her in our lives
*It's kind of a play on numbers which I think is so fun!*
Hope your weekend was lovely!
Monday, February 05, 2007
Happy Birthday to Me

{I already have 5 of the 7 hexagons made. I am so excited. My knitting is getting faster and faster all the time.} Then Rick and I went to Barnes & Noble where I had a Starbucks Cinnamon Dolce Latte. It was good, but I think I'll stick to Chai. I read some Knitting books & mags {shocker, I know} and Rick read some Computing magazines. Then we headed home, stopping at Blockbuster on the way. We didn't really see any movies of interest so we picked up two DVDs of House, season two. After relaxing for a bit, I made a nice celebratory dinner, Barefoot Contessa-style.
For starters we had a warm goat cheese salad served on spring greens with a homemade basil vinaigrette. {The recipe didn't call for the basil, but I felt it needed something.} Rick's not even a huge goat cheese fan & this recipe made me realize that I actually like the texture a lot more when it is warm and slightly melty. Then we had this:

Two huge {1# each} ribeye steaks and homemade onion rings. This was the first time that I've ever made onion rings at home & I wouldn't hesitate to do it again, probably only for special occasions though. This meal rocked {if I can say so myself}. Uber yummy!!! {If only I would've made creme brulee for dessert. That woulda put it over the top. Maybe next time.} Then we spent the rest of the night watching House & knitting. The best part was trying to teach Rick how to knit. It was so funny. I wish I would've taken a picture. He caught on pretty fast and even woke up the next morning thinking about knitting {even if was only for like 15 seconds as he claims}.
So that is the highlight of my birthday festivities. Tonight I'm making stuffed shells {for the first time} & Tatiana has put on a fancy dress on my behalf. I kinda wonder where/how I'll be for the big 3-0. If things go according to plan, I might be..........pregnant ;>)
Sunday, February 04, 2007
New Blog
The Pedaling Theologian
Tuesday, January 30, 2007
New Year, New Foods
1. Prime Rib. I made this on New Year's day and was amazed that it could taste better than in a restaurant. I expected it to be complicated or fussy, instead of ridiculously simple. This wasn't the precise recipe I used, but it was very similar. I only left mine in the turned-0ff oven for 2 hours I believe. The crust was awesome too. Next time I will cut the prime rib in half so that there is more crust!
2. Penne with Vodka Sauce. This recipe also appears in one of Giada's cookbooks, which is where I got it from. It just sounded so yummy! This is the first time I've made homemade marinara {which also was a lot easier than I thought.} After making the marinara, I realized how much SUGAR most commercial pasta sauces have & sure enough, light corn syrup was listed 3rd on a jar I had in the pantry. This marinara tastes so fresh and tomato-y. I wasn't too stoked about the vodka sauce itself. Rick really like it though & the flavor seems to mellow out after a day or two.
3. Spanish Rice Mix. I have really been into making my own mixes for two reasons: frugality & health. You can be sure of what goes in them. If you find your spices at the dollar store & buy your rice in bulk, they can be pretty inexpensive. You can also control the sodium level {which unfortunately is very high in most commercial mixes}. I usually halve the recipes since my family is smaller & put the mix in a little snack size ziploc baggie. I keep the recipe card on the shelf under the corresponding baggies. Here is a link to a cookbook full of "Make Your Own Mixes".
4. Corn Bread Mix.
5. Antipasto Squares. Ok, so saying that these were a big hit is a serious understatement. At the party we just had, it seems like just about every person asked me for the recipe or what exactly was in them. They are a little finnicky to cut nicely and get out of the pan, but a big spatula works wonders.
I can't wait to try Beth's recipe for baked Amish Oatmeal. I am thinking it will be perfect for a Saturday morning breakfast. Another thing on my "to try" list is homemade onion rings. I have a recipe in one of Ina Garten's cookbooks for a buttermilk battered version. I think I might make them this Saturday for my birthday dinner along with a nice rib-eye steak. And for all you Olive Garden fans, I found this copycat recipe for their salad dressing which I thought might be interesting to try.
What's on your "to try" list for 2007 or what new things have you tried already?
P.S. I just had to mention that on Sunday night, Tatiana tried TWO new things for dinner. She actually ate several bits of fish {and liked it, although I just told her that it was "like chicken" so she really didn't know it was fish} and she tried asparagus. She didn't really like that, but this is HUGE progress.
Saturday, January 27, 2007
Down in the dumps
A: To the dump, to the dump, to the dump, dump, dump!
I don't really feel like I have anything noteworthy or witty or interesting to say. I'm just being honest. Do you appreciate honesty? This week I just have been feeling "down in the dumps". Probably because Sienna was sick, then I was horribly sick, then Sienna was a bit sick again. Through all that, I still managed to homeschool three days out of our normal four, but for whatever reason, I still felt like I was failing at homeschooling well. I have sensed that emotionally I've been feeling down, but I don't really have any good reason why. {S.A.D? If you have it, you know what I mean.} Yesterday was a bright spot, being Sienna's second birthday. I even watched the clock as it ticked to the exact minute she was born & said a prayer thanking God for the blessing that she is & asking her to be with us for many more birthdays to come. That was a good moment. I was feeling slightly overwhelmed at the prospect of having a party today & tried as best that I could to release myself from making it perfect. I am feeling a little disappointed too that nearly none of our friends came to her party {along with several family members}. I realize that everyone has their own lives to attend to and that this occasion was about celebrating Sienna, but still a little bummed nonetheless. {Maybe my love language being quality time has something particular to do with it.} Another bright spot though is that I've got a lot of knitting done & have been bit by the knitting bug in a BIG way. I even read an entire book in 2 days {easily done since it was a hilarious compilation of a real-life knitter}. It's called Yarn Harlot. She also has a blog here which I've been enjoying reading. I found this super cute knitting pattern {really, it's genius} for a baby that I am definitely making {you pregnant readers might get some for your wee ones, so I'm not spilling the beans}, but unfortunately all the yarn need will cost $30. Maybe that will be my birthday present. I know. How lame that must seem to some people. I want YARN for my birthday. Just kick me.
The other item weighing heavily on my mental platter has been, without giving many details, the question of whether a sin is the same as a SIN. Does God view all sins the same way? I am having a hard time reconciling the fact that a little white lie {maybe slightly deceiving your child perhaps} could be put on the same level with, oh...say, adultery. Dear husband says, "A sin is a sin." I told him I was going to just fall back on my Catholic roots and sort sins in the venial and mortal categories. {Insert laugh from husband here.} He says one way to explain it would be to say that all sins are equally against God, but that different sins have different consequences.....I also say that it is worse when a person, who appears to be living a very holy life and is walking the walk, falls into a serious sin issue than for a person who does not give that same impression. Dear husband says, "Aren't we all walking around, to some degree, hiding sin in our lives, pretending to be one way on the outside and another on the inside?" Sometimes I could just wring his neck for the swift and appropriate responses he comes up with.
{Insert friendly-but-thought-provoking comments from blog readers here.}
Thursday, January 25, 2007
A Letter for Laughs
Dear {mostly} Wonderful Husband,
Please excuse the fact that I haven't brushed my teeth since vomiting sixteen times on Tuesday and I hope you can overlook that I haven't showered in nearly two days either. Despite my various odors, I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you. Thank you for being willing to take me to the ER when I thought I was dying from the stomach flu. I know you weren't too happy about it. When we got in the car at 8 pm and I asked if you were mad at me, you answered, "It is what it is." Your willingness is a big improvement. At least I wasn't reduced to calling a distant relative to come and pick me up to take me to the hospital like I have almost had to do in the past. Perhaps after another eight years of marriage, you will be able to treat my serious illnesses with a little more sympathy.
I asked you why you have never gotten the stomach flu and you just chuckled. Although it is not something I would wish on my worst enemy {ok, or just someone I don't like}, I almost wish that you could have just a small case of it so you could finally empathize. Believe me, alternating sitting hunched over the toilet with lying in bed with a nauseous tight twisted stomach is last on my "Things I Love to Do List". But I digress. Thank you also for your concern over continuing to eat at my favorite little pasta restaurant, which you accuse of giving me food poisoning when I went out with my girlfriends on Monday night. {I know you're convinced it was those danged shrimp they put in my pasta even though I didn't order them.}
Your nursing skills and bedside manner are improving with each bout of sickness and I look forward to the day when you'll arrive at my bedside with a bowl of chicken soup and the latest scrapbooking magazine.
Love,
Your Still Recovering Wife
P.S. You did earn a lot of Husband Points last night when I woke you up at midnight because our 2 year old had left a PILE of vomit in her crib. Thank you for changing her sheets and even *gasp* starting the washing machine with all the dirty items. I appreciated all the air freshener you sprayed and sprinkled on the carpet as well. See, improving all the time!
Saturday, January 20, 2007
I'm a FIRST-born
Fast forward to today. I had to take 2 year old to the ER. She had a fever and has been vomiting since yesterday morning. {My sincerest apologies to the guests at the Wilderness who witnessed my daughter puke in the hot tub.} She gets her vitals taken, she eats a popsicle, the doctor comes and talks to us & says we can go. So, we pack up daughter and our things and head to the car. As I'm getting in, I asked hubby if we should've gotten some paperwork. DUH. This wasn't my first or even fifth trip to the hospital. I go back inside and ask for the paperwork. I wait. I wait for 10 minutes. I ask again. Our nurse comes out to say that she was busy but needed to take 2 year old's vitals again. She really needs to have that done before they can discharge her. She will have another not-so-busy-nurse do it. Ok. I retrieve 2 year old from the car. I come back in. I wait. I wait. After 35 minutes of waiting {with a semi-sick toddler I remind you}, I ask if I can just leave without the paperwork. I tell the receptionist that the ER seems really busy, my daughter is not critical & can I just leave without the AWOL paperwork/nurse-needed-for-vitals. She makes a call and {apparently annoyed} is discussing my behaviour with the person on the other end. Right in front of me. I finally ask what they are going to do if I just leave. What is going to happen to me? She says, "WELL...we can't keep you here." Ok. So I leave. Not a typical first-born-compliant-non-rule-breaker move. And again, I felt....free.
Does your birth order match what a typical birth order personality would be? Seems like mine does.
Friday, January 12, 2007
Mealtimes
Do you have any mealtime traditions? I like the one I read about here, regarding the rose & the thistle. So COOL! How often do you eat together as a family? Do you have any special meal traditions for birthdays? {I am asking lots of questions as of late so that I can just collect other people’s opinions instead of sharing my own occasionally controversial opinion~LOL!} Our mealtimes look something like this:
We eat together almost every night of the week, unless one of us has to be out for a meeting or whatnot. We almost always eat at the kitchen table with the TV OFF. We do enjoy music with our meals. Every now & then we all eat in the living room, with the kids at a little picnic table. We don’t have any special mealtime traditions, which I’d like to start. I’ve heard of having a “Special” plate that a family member gets to use if they are having some sort of special day. Maybe when the kids get older I will make their favorite meal w/dessert for their birthdays. In the summer, things are a little more difficult as hubby doesn’t get home sometimes until after 6:30 pm. Sometimes we wait for him, sometimes we don’t. We are just accustomed to eating around 5:30-6:00 pm. The kids do miss him if we don’t end up eating together. I think the concept of eating at the dinner table together is extremely important. I heard some statistic on the radio recently {can’t remember the specifics} that showed a positive benefit for children whose families frequently eat together. I kind of look at it as a chance to reconnect after a long day. Even Tatiana is in the habit of daily asking hubby, “How was your day at work today, Dad?”
So, what does your family do that works or doesn’t or what do you want to change about your mealtime habits?
Thursday, January 11, 2007
My inquiring mind wants to know.....
Who runs the "routine" when both of you are home? I struggle with trying to submit to what my hubby wants to do & still try and keep the household running smoothly at the same time!
Sunday, January 07, 2007
Christmas in July

Oh, I can't forget the paper bag album I made for my dear sweet cousin, Ky-Ky {as I used to call her when I was a kid}:
Now for my Christmas in July idea. It seems like I *never* have enough time around the holidays to do all the crafty holiday things I want to do, including making great homemade gifts which are thoughtful and won't break the bank, so here is what I am planning to do. I am setting aside one smallish rubbermaid container which will be my Christmas in July box. Any craft items I collect or items needed for making gifts will be going in this box. That way when I am looking at garage sales for mason jars or small trinkets for my pirate jars, I will have a place to store them. I bought a cool wooden Christmas tree shadow box at Hobby Lobby which is going in the box to be decorated in July. I also have a computer document started titled "Christmas in July" with all the ideas for homemade gifts & decorations, which I can add to when I find a cool idea. I also hope to make my own Christmas cards, which is another thing that gets filed in the always-want-to-do-but-run-out-of-time holiday box. As I collect the cards or paper or envelopes for those, I can put them in my Christmas in July box. I've come across instructions for making chocolate lip gloss {for my girlfriends} and some scented rice heating packs for those gift recipients with aching muscles. I think I will just pick one weekend & make that my Christmas in July weekend where I work on all these projects & maybe send hubby and the kids away to his parents or something. Maybe some of my other real life friends will join me to make their own Christmas goodies. Maybe I can have a Christmas in July party. What fun! Oh yeah, another thing I've always wanted to make is my own Christmas advent calendar. I'm still looking for ideas for that! This will be my last Christmas post until July.....

